top of page
  • Writer's pictureashnicholeblank

Dude - $6500

Updated: Nov 6

Dude, 2018 Gelding sired by Palace. Standing 15.3h. Unraced. Retired since 2021. Been mostly trail riding with occasional arena work. Big bodied (rider in the video is 6’). Dudes been with me for a long time and quite frankly through a lot of 💩. He’s been to Pa, TN and FL, traveling to six different barns (mostly with me) over the last few years. We’ve been through a lot together and I am going to be EXTREMELY picky about where this one goes. He’s been mostly babysitting (horses and humans) for the last year, going for occasional spins in the arena or out on the trail (bqreback and in a halter most of the time) with a novice rider. He will take care of your other half. He is essentially an insurance policy. I was going to let him be a permanent resident but it’s becoming clear that he’s getting pretty bored and needing a job. He’ll keep others in line in the field but is never mean, I typically use him as a turnout buddy for any of the new retirees. He does enjoy a good game of face tag and loves to play! He’s been pastured alone or with others, lived out 24/7 or been in a stall. He’s an air fern of a keeper, gets grass hay and balancer. We had him shod all around for a while but after he was on higher quality forage for a while his feet improved drastically and we let him go barefoot. He was recently pastured with a pretty playful horse in a more rocky area so we threw a set of poly wraps on his front feet. If you’re going to be riding a lot or on hard footing, I’d keep him shod or in the poly wraps up front. He’s got a huge personality and is a total “Dude”, he loves a cold beverage and is often found trying to steal them. He’ll walk trot canter and pop over a little fence, he’s an adorable mover and has a comfortable canter. He’s not fancy broke but he is SAFE. He does get his stifle done once a year. He’d be best suited to a 2’9 and under lifestyle if jumping (he doesn’t have the ambition for more quite frankly and if you have logs on the trails and 2’ goals I’d love that for him). I want for him to find someone looking for their trail buddy, low level dressage partner, adult ammy last horse for all the easy going things. He’s the same horse every time we pull him out… hop on him in the pasture with nothing on, he doesn’t care a bit.

He’s located in Ocala FL, shipping available.

Video from the last 8 months or so with a novice uploading. If he is around next week I’ll get another with someone more experienced in the arena.

If you’re serious, give me a call to talk about him and tell me about yourself and the situation he’d be going into. 5* home is of the utmost importance. 717-606-4419

776 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page